Home / 2019 / Cano World Press Freedom Prize, 2019

Cano World Press Freedom Prize, 2019

UNESCO invitations the governments of Member States, in session with their National Commissions, in addition to international and regional skilled non-governmental organizations, energetic within the box of press freedom, to appoint applicants for subsequent 12 months’s UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.

This Prize used to be established via UNESCO’s Executive Board, in 1997, in honour of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died within the workout of his career. Its objective is to praise every 12 months an individual, group or establishment that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anyplace on this planet, particularly if dangers had been concerned.

Awarded once a year, at the instance of World Press Freedom Day (three May), the Prize is marked via a rite and the winner is gifted with the sum of US$25,000.

World Press Freedom Day 2019 will happen in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, on three May 2019.

Become a Web Developer in 2016 with Coursera

The Prize is funded via the Cano Foundation (Colombia), the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland) and the Namibia Media Trust (Namibia).

How to publish your nomination:

Nominations for the Prize will have to be submitted via filling out the form in English or French and sending it earlier than 15 February 2019 via submit or via electronic mail to:

Communication and Information Sector
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development
Section for Freedom of Expression
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris

Scholarship Link

Scholarships for international students

Check Also

University of Queensland (ITTC) International PhD Scholarship, Australia

The University of Queensland is offering a chance for extremely motivated remarkable students to use …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: